Bias for Action

22 Oct

I’m starting a series of posts that are in the group ‘What Does It Take To Succeed?’  This is the first post in that section.  If you’re interested in restaurants – or even business in general – you should definitely take a look and let us know what you think.  We’re always open to input and our guests and reader’s opinions, so let us know anything that is on your mind!

Today I want to talk about a concept that my Dad taught me when I was a little kid.  I’m a ‘big picture’ kind of guy, and when I was younger I would always talk to my Dad about the entrepreneurial ideas that I had.  Ideas after ideas, and some were really good – some small such as local services and some larger-scale like social networking sites.  It must have been the first idea that I brought to my Dad, looking for his input and approval, where he told me that in order to succeed in any venture I’ll have to have a bias for action.

What does this all mean?  I mean it is pretty clear to understand the words.  I think Nike sums it up pretty excellently with their ‘Just Do It’ slogan.  That’s what it is about.  Get to work.  Roll up your sleeves and get into the idea.  An idea is an idea.  Put the wheels in motion, get things churning and then an idea transforms from a vision into a reality.

When it comes to opening a restaurant, it is more important than ever to have this bias for action.  There are so many decisions that have to be made that, if you don’t want to take years to open, you have to get right down to work.  When you sit down to discuss or decide on something, you have to make the decision by the time you leave the table.  Otherwise things will draw on for days, weeks, months.  It is so important, then, to get the wheels churning and keep pushing, day after day.  You’ll reap the benefits when your restaurant is open and you know that you built it.

That’s where we’re at now.  It is more important than ever to push harder each and every day – keep trying to reach the day that our doors are open and we’re serving you the best food you’ve ever tasted.  Isn’t that what you’re waiting for?

Leave a Reply

